DIY: easy brown sugar body scrub

The best ideas always come in the shower, right? This idea was a combination of being out of one of my favorite body scrub, and inspiration from my favorite blogger kate. She has been doing a series of handmade gifts, and like I said in a previous post, I have been making lots of my Christmas presents this year. So very long story short, I decided to make my own body scrub!
I hopped on to Pinterest and started looking for some diy scrubs. I found a wide range of recipes from just sugar and dish soap to crazy additions like lime zest and vitamin e capsules. I pulled bits and pieces from several and came up with (drum roll, please) ***insert cool name for body scrub here***! (P.s. As hard as I tried I could not think of a “cool” name. So feel free to give it your own name, or settle for what I eventually came up with: Easy Brown Sugar Body Scrub!
Lots of recipes called for using coconut oil as your main oil, but a few months ago I was using coconut oil as my go-to for everything in the shower, and in some strange coincidence our drain plugged up around the same time. So I just used a teeny tiny bit to still get some of the awesome benefits of coconut oil, but to keep my drain (and mom) happy.

Ingredients:
IMG_2196.JPG
•1 cup brown sugar
•1/4 cup olive oil
•1 tbs coconut oil
•1 tbs honey
•1 tsp cinnamon
•1 tsp vanilla extract
You can use really any oil that you have on hand, and I’m sure essential oils could replace the cinnamon and vanilla extract if that’s what you’re into. This is what I had in my cupboards 🙂

Directions:
IMG_2197.JPG
•pour all ingredients into a bowl and mix together till everything is combined and the smell is making you want to eat it. I mixed it in the bowl I’m going to store it in, because I don’t like to do the dishes. If you’re feeling fancy (and generous for not keeping it all for yourself) and want to give it as a gift you could mix it in a different bowl and then transfer into cute little mason jars and tie a bow around it. Yay!

Finished product:
IMG_2200.JPG

Enjoy! This should last in an air tight container stored at room temperature for 2-3 months. If you make this please leave me a comment and let me know what you think! To see the many blog posts that inspired my final product, check out my diy board on pinterest.
P.s. I made a double batch of this the other day, and it ended up being waaay too much olive oil. So if you want to make a larger amount, I would add extra olive (or whatever oil you are using) sparingly!

xo, Lisa

One comment

  1. Mel Onary · December 12, 2014

    Now I know why we ran out of olive oil. ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

