Friday 5

Hi friends! Sorry for the all the quiet recently. To say that I’ve been busy would be an understatement. But I missed you and hopefully you missed me and a girls gotta eat so I’m taking a snack break from my life and blogging. Yes, I’m an advanced multi-tasker. So here we go šŸ™‚

1) May
Am I the only one who absolutely can. not. believe. that it is already May?! I know that I say this at the beginning of every month, but it feels extra crazy that the year is pretty much halfway gone, which means summer is almost here, and before I know it summer will be over and it will be winter before I’ve even got my summer body ready.
I’m actually just kidding about the summer body part. All you gotta do to get a summer body is have a body and be present during the months of summer.
Aaaaand now I’m all distracted. The real reason I’m talking about May is because of the super funny Justin Timberlake meme that floats around this time of year, and the text about it I received from my infant 19 year old sister.
IMG_2918.JPG

IMG_2926.PNG

2) macarons
If there is one thing you should know about me, it’s that I love love love love love macarons. Luckily, my former (see item 5!) boss lady/friend Ashleigh knows my feelings about macarons–she even knows my favorite flavor..cookie dough šŸ˜‹–and happens to be a macaron making pro. I’m not just saying that either, she sells them! Check out her website and drool over the pictures of her macarons here. **note, although Ash did give me macarons as a gift, she did not ask me to talk about them here, and all opinions are my own. I would pay big money to eat them off the floor, that’s how good they are.

IMG_2928.JPG

3) mongolian
If macarons are my favorite food, mongolian is my second fave. Again, luckily for me, my semi-successful friend Bailey knows this. Since we don’t work together anymore šŸ˜«šŸ˜«šŸ˜«šŸ˜«šŸ˜«šŸ˜« (see item 5) we have scheduled mandatory lunch dates. I realize this sounds super old and married like, scheduling dates, but we are busy and need to pencil each other in! Don’t judge. So anyway we went to mongolian and ate too much but still had 18 to go boxes to take home. Another reason SSFB and I are best friends is because we both understand the importance of fortune cookies, and the rules to eating them. Incase you are unaware, I’ll enlighten you.
Rule 1: everyone at the table must be done eating before the fortune cookies are opened.
Rule 2: the fortune cookie that contains your true fortune is the one that’s pointing to you. If none are pointing to you, you will take the one that is least not pointing to you by default. But it’s not truly yours.
Rule 3: after you’ve been chosen by your cookie, break it in half and eat the half that doesn’t contain your paper fortune (obvi..). Sorry, I know it’s gross. Chew chew chew and chug some water.
Rule 4: after everyone is done eating the first cookie half, the fortune can be read! If you like what you see, eat the other half of the cookie. If not, you’re in luck and you can just toss the lousy fortune and extra cookie half.
I don’t have any rules on what happens if your fortune rips in half. If anyone knows, please holla.

IMG_2920.JPG

IMG_2919.JPG

4) carwash
Fun fact about me: I hate those automatic car washes. It’s the only reason my car is always a grey/brown instead of shiny black.
Ok, there are other reasons but the main reason is because car washes terrify me. But I faced my fears and went through one today, and I can confirm they are just as scary and awful as I remember them being. I believe my exact thoughts as the car was being rinsed were

“I’m being water boarded. I’m going to die.”

I’ll spare you my other thoughts but I think you get the idea. I do however challenge encourage you to try something outside of your comfort zone this weekend. Let me know how it goes in the comments!

IMG_2921.JPG

5) starbucks
This Thursday, after 4 years of slingin’ java, I wore my green apron for the last time. It feels sooo weird to not be a partner anymore. I already messed up when someone asked me where I worked and I replied “starbucks!” and followed that with an awkward..well, I did… Which was received with a weird look by a girl who now thinks I’m crazy and don’t know where I work.
It feels strange to be so sad about leaving a job, but I guess it really has been a part of my identity since I was in high school.
I’m gotten over the fact that I won’t smell like milk anymore, and am sooo excited that I can paint my nails, but I’m really going to miss the people. Both the ones that I worked with, and the ones that I saw every day. If you are a “regular” somewhere; a coffee shop, restaurant, gas, station, target (šŸ™‹ guilty!), I want you to know that you are making a difference in the life of the people that serve you. You may think that you’re just one of the many that your barista sees every day, but I can guarantee that you are valued, appreciated, and maybe even considered a friend. I just hope that the customers that I saw every day for the past forever amount of years, know how much of an integral part of my day they where.
It’s with a heavy heart that I say goodbye Starbucks. Thanks for the early mornings, the late nights, the memories made and the people I’ve met, and of course the endless supply of free caffeine. ā¤ļøā˜•ļø

IMG_2916.JPG

Leave a Reply

