Leia’s 3rd birthday + puppy cake recipe! 

Hi and happy Friday! No friday 5 today, sorry folks. Instead this post is for all you people who love your dog. a lot. Like maybe too much.



She hasn’t made much of an appearance here, but if you follow me on instagram, or twitter, then you definitely know what a big part of my life my little Princess Leia is.


She turned T H R E E years old on Sunday and I don’t know who let that happen because I am NOT okay with it!


I get really upset with people who say that animals aren’t like children because 1) it’s not cool to say how other people feel, 2) some people for reasons out of their control cannot have human babies, and a pet is the closest thing those people get to being parents. And I can bet that they will treat their fur baby JUST as well as they would have a human baby if they had been given that opportunity. 3) I can guarantee that I got up with my stinkin dog in the middle of the night just as often as I would have with a newborn, and potty training was rough too.


ANYWAY now that my rant is over… 🙂 I’m obsessed with my little Leia, and wanted to do something special for her big day. So I made her a puppy birthday cake!


The best part about this cake is that it’s made 100% from puppy safe human food so you can enjoy a piece with your pup! It’s not super tasty but I’m not even lying when I say it was totally edible! My mom and sister even said that if they hadn’t known it had been made with a dog in mind, they would have actually enjoyed it! Haha. I got the recipe from Pinterest, but here it is for ya.
Ingredients:
1 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda (for anyone concerned, I did research! While not good in large quantities, this amount of baking soda cooked in a cake will do no harm to your furry friend)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup peanut butter
1 cup shredded carrots (to be honest, I think I used way more than this because 1. My dogs LOVE carrots, and 2. I didn’t measure. I just took about 4 carrots and “shredded” with a peeler and then chopped them up)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup honey
1 egg
Basically throw the dry stuff in a bowl and stir and then throw in everything else and stir again and then put it all in a greased 8″ pan and bake for 24ish minutes at 350 or until a toothpick comes out clean. I checked it at 20 and then obsessively checked it every 30 seconds until done because for some reason i’m skilled at the art of over-cooking.
For the frosting: melt together equal-ish parts honey & peanut butter with a dash of milk and frost when the cake is cool.

That’s seriously it! Sooo simple even I could do it 😉

How do you celebrate your dog’s? If you have cute pictures, please leave them in the comments!


The next 9+ days we are forecasted to have temperatures in the 111 degree range, so you will find me hiding in my freezer. I hope whatever you all do you stay safe and cool and hydrated!!!
Xo, Lisa

6/26/15 update: I wrote this post last night, but I have to add that today I am SO PROUD to be an American. If you aren’t aware, today the Supreme Court ruled that gay marriage is legal in all 50 states. Like I have said on the blog before, I believe that everyone deserves the right to a lifetime of unhappiness, so I always have and always will be a supporter of gay marriage. If you don’t like the idea of gay marriage, don’t get gay married! It’s as simple as that. Today, #lovewins

Leave a Reply

