Summer Style: Sundresses

if you live in the PNW, I don’t have to tell you how absofreakinglutely h o t it has been the past week! If you don’t live here, here’s some proof.



So, yeah. It’s been a bit toasty here.

To be honest though I really don’t mind. I would MUCH rather be too hot than too cold. This heat wave does however, make getting dressed a challenge! For me, my favorite thing to wear (outside of the office) in the summer is sun dresses! They can be dressed up or down, are easy to throw on, and the breeze they allow is a definite plus šŸ˜‰

I just recently picked thisĀ one up at Abercrombie & Fitch, and it’s one of my new favs! ***PSA: it’s half off online right now! I’m not sure how long the sale will last though, so if you like it, I wouldn’t wait to buy one yourself!

Special shout out to Sophie/Mama Kitty for the photobomb šŸ˜‰

Some things I like about it that I look for in a summer dress:

  • Semi-fitted: for daytime, I think that looser fitting dresses are more appropriate, not to mention more comfortable in this heat! But at the same time when you have a petite frame, I do think you need a little bit of tailoring to look best. This dress is perfect because it’s fitted on top but flows perfectly over the areas that need a little camouflage.
  • Neutral color: at $44 dollars, it’s a bit of an investment piece for me. I LOVE trendy colors and prints, but I HATE feeling like I can only wear something once a month because it stands out so much. I like simple colors and patterns because I can shamelessly outfit repeat and no one will notice! šŸ˜‰
  • Little details: obviously, this is a simple dress, but it has a zipper going about halfway down that I really like. When I’m out running errands, I don’t want to have to add accessories if I don’t want to. The zipper makes me feel a little more put together with zero effort!

To finish off the look, I added sparkly sandals fromĀ Target.

Like this look? Here are some more of my favorite easy dresses that can be dressed up or down, and will keep you looking and feeling cute now matter how hot it is outside;Ā 1,Ā 2,Ā 3,Ā 4.

Leave a Reply

