Friday 5 + ANNOUNCEMENT

you know the drill, let’s jump right in!


Ever since I accidentally deleted my Spotify, I’ve been seriously slacking on keeping you updated with the random tunes I’ve been digging! I was told by Spotify that you can just re-log in, and that all your music will be there, but in failed adult style, that didn’t work for me šŸ˜¢. I’m considering trying the new Apple radio! If you’ve used it let me know what you think.


I recently bought one of those containers of dried Kraft cheese at (where else) Target, only to get home and realize we had one already. When I went to return it, I was told it would be discarded. I asked Target on Twitter to explain, and I’m not really pleased with the answer. I get that if I return a food item that’s been opened, that’s not really safe for donation, but seriously an unopened dry cheese with a 2 year expiration date?? I’m going to look into other stores policies about this, and might have to start doing more of my grocery shopping elsewhere.


It wouldn’t be a post from me without some mention of a cat right? This is Lefty, so named for the white on the right side of his face. Makes a lot of sense, I know šŸ˜‰.


As it’s been 100 million degrees out lately, checking the weather can be a pretty scary thing to do. This app (the effing weather!) is the best! *be adviced, when temps go above 100+, the app can get a little fiesty. Use caution if you’re not comfortable with unnecessary swearing.


I went a little cray yesterday and tried a new flavor bowl at Amazingly Fresh! I believe this is called the Aloha Bowl, and it’s only available for a limited time! I’m actually not sure all that’s in it, but I think it’s coconut oil, coconut, coconut water, and pineapple, topped with pineapple, banana, and coconut flakes and their signature agave drizzle of course. This one is SO REFRESHING! It’s basically like a piƱa colada but healthy and without the booze.

Ready for the announcement??!

Drum roll please……


I GOT IN!!!!!!

I’m so incredibly excited to be able to say that I have been accepted to the University of Washington’s College of Education, Early Childhood & Family Studies Program! I have worked so hard over the past year to finish the prerequisites and requirements, and I’m still kind of in shock that I actually did it! It’s Cougar Country around here, so I’m pretty sure I’ve already been taken out of a few wills, but I’m overjoyed to officially be a Dawg. Go Huskies! šŸ’œšŸ’›

How was your week? Share your 5 with me in the comments!

xo, Lisa

p.s. wish you could have been one of the first to hear my announcement? Be sure to follow me onĀ InstagramĀ andĀ Twitter!

5 comments

  1. hallenterprises132 · July 24, 2015

    Congratulations on being accepted into the University of Washingtonā€™s College of Education, Early Childhood & Family Studies Program! Children need a good start in their learning career if they are going to grow into fully functional adults in the future.

    Back to the assignment you completed by creating a wonderful place for your highlights of the past week, looks great. I prefer your Monday posts, but I tend to go for the educational value first. That is just me, the book worm. Most normal people would probably like the Friday 5 best. Keep up the Monday information to your loyal readers and keep blogging in general! Have a good weekend.
    Jeanette Hall

    Like

    • ourfailedadulthood · July 24, 2015

      Thank you!!
      Also, thank you for the feedback! We tend to try to keep things lighthearted here, but the fact of the matter is that adulthood is NOT all fun and games. It’s encouraging to know that people appreciate the Monday posts as well as the Friday ones. I will do my best to keep both up and running šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Claremary P. Sweeney · July 24, 2015

    Lisa, Congratulations! If you’re on Twitter, check out PragmaticMom. She promotes diversity in education and has tons of great articles and advice for teachers. Also our fellow 101classmate Azhar yourself just jumped in. He’s really great, too. Best of everything from a one-time teacher who loved the classroom! Clare

    Like

    • ourfailedadulthood · July 24, 2015

      Thank you!
      And thank you for the suggestion! I have already built up quite a little collection for my future classroom library, and I’m following her now and so excited to see what suggestions she has! If you have any more advice from your classroom to mine, I’d love to hear it šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Claremary P. Sweeney · July 24, 2015

        I did write a post called “The Best Lesson Plan I Ever Made” It was about low level readers in high school Don’t know if it would help?

        Like

Leave a Reply

